Top Story

India Extends e-Visa Scheme to UK Travellers

India, 14th August: India has extended its e-visa scheme to holders of UK passports.

This latest step by Indian government is aimed boosting tourism in the nation.

Indian e-visasIndia to Extend e-visas to Britons—Britons will be provided the facility of e-visas from 15th August, 2015 by India. So, the UK nationals shall be among 113 nationalities to get the opportunity to apply for India e-tourist visa.

The facility will be available for UK passport holders to apply for India e-visas online on the official tourist visa website of the Indian government. This means UK passport holders shall not be required to book any appointment at any outsourced visa processing agency or undergo laborious postal application.

<blockquote> India is introducing special facility for UK passport holders to apply for India e-visas with effect from 15th August, 2015, that is, the Independence day of India. </blockquote>

UK among 36 new nations to be added to e-visa system of India from 15th August—From 15th August this year, the independence day of India, the UK will be among 36 new nations to be included to the e-visa system of India.

This has taken the total number of nations on the e-visa list to 113. Yes, that’s true.

Britons will be able to enjoy the privilege of flying to India for recreation and tourism purposes by applying for e-visas online. They need to carry along with them a printout of the online visas as a proof.

Seven additional airports to be designated for e-visa scheme–From 15th August this year, Indian government also announced adding seven additional Indian airports as the newly designated airports for coming to India on e-tourist visas. This was affirmed by Indian government statement.

Indian government announced inclusion of Amritsar, Ahmedabad, Gaya, Jaipur, Lucknow, Trichy and Varanasi among other main hubs including Mumbai, New Delhi, Chennai and Kolkata for e-visas.

So, total designated airports will now be 16. Around 200,000 e-tourist visas have already been issued by Indian government since the launch of India e-visa scheme on 27th November, 2014.

Every year, nearly 800,000 UK nationals visit India, confirmed the UK Foreign Office figures. And the latest introduction of e-visas will be a big boost for tourists.

Which other nations shall be added to India’s e-visa scheme next week?—From next week, India will be adding Belgium, Hungary, Ireland, Monaco, Poland, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and Sweden to its e-visa scheme.

Applicants for e-visas must apply online not less than four days before their travel date.

Related Articles

Back to top button